May 21, 2024
Starting Friday morning, Whatcom County Sheriff's Department and Bellingham Police will be looking for distracted drivers.

Starting Friday morning, Whatcom County Sheriff’s Department and Bellingham Police will be looking for distracted drivers — specifically drivers on their phones.
State Patrol search for road rage shooter on SR-16 in Tacoma
In the state of Washington, it is against the law to hold a cell phone while driving. A driver can only use a cell phone if they are if the driver is hands-free and can start by a single touch or swipe, or parked and out-of-the-flow of traffic. This does not include being stopped at a light or stuck in a back-up.
This includes all personal devices like laptops, tablets, music players, and gaming accessories.
“90% of drivers avoid distracted driving,” The Washington Traffic Safety Commission stated. “We need 100% of Washington drivers to stay focused.”
Emphasis Patrols will focus primarily in North Bellingham.
WSP cracking down on ‘move over, slow down’ law
A ticket will cost drivers $136. If a driver is caught again within five years, it shoots up to $234 dollars. All infractions are reported to the driver’s insurance agency.